Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to footer

Police Commission

City of East Helena Police Commission

The City of East Helena Police Commission is comprised of three citizens and is governed by the laws and administrative rules of the State of Montana and the City of East Helena. Members of the Police Commission are appointed by the Mayor and must be approved by the City Council. Commissioners serve three three year terms as required by Montana law. See MCA  §§ 7-32-4151 through 7-32-4164.

The purpose of the Police Commission is to review and certify all applicants for police officer position and to hear disciplinary appeals for the Police Department. The Commission meets as needed, meetings are posted and open to the public.

For more information on the Police Commission please call the Mayor or City Clerk/Treasurer at (406) 227-5321.